News Teaching and Learning

FG Make New Appointment for 17 Education Agencies…Oloyede to Head JAMB as Registrar

Written by Elvis Boniface

The Federal Government has approved the appointments of 17 new chief executives heads for some parastatals and agencies under the Federal Ministry of Education.

According to a statement from the Education Ministry earlier this week, the appointment was with immediate effect.

Some of the affected agencies include the Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board,  the Universal Basic Education Commission and the National Universities Commission.

Others are the National Library of Nigeria, the National Examinations Council and the Nomadic Education Commission, among others.

The appointees are:

  • Prof. Abubakar Rasheed, National Universities Commission (NUC)
  • Dr. Hameed Bobboyi, Universal Basic Education (UBE)
  • Prof. Ishaq Oloyede, Joint Admission Matriculation Board (JAMB)
  • Prof. Charles Uwakwe, National Examination Council (NECO)
  • Prof. Lilian Salami, Nigerian Institute for Education Planning and Administration
  • Prof. Lanre Aina, National Library of Nigeria
  • Prof. Abba Haladu, National Commission for Mass Literacy, Adult and Non-Formal Education
  • Prof. Bashir Usman, Nomadic Education Commission
  • Prof. Isioma Isiugo-Abanihe, National Business and technical Examinations Board (NABTEB)

Others are:

  • Prof. Sunday Ajiboye, Teachers Registration Council of Nigeria (TRCN)
  • Afolabi Aderinto, Computer Registration Council of Nigeria (CPN)
  • Prof. Bappah Aliyu, the National Commission for Colleges of Education (NCCE)
  • Dr. Abdullahi Baffa, Tertiary Education Trust Fund and Prof. Garba Dahuwa Azare, National Teachers Institute.

The Federal Government also named Prof. Michael Afolabi as the new head of the Librarian Registration Council of Nigeria; Prof. Steven Ejugwu Onah, National Mathematical Centre; and Prof. Chinyere Ohiri-Aniche, National Institute of Nigerian Languages.

Retained in their roles are, Prof. Samaila Junaidu, Nigeria Educational Research and Development Council; Prof. Rauf Adebisi, Nigerian French Language Village; Dr. Mas’ud Kazaure, National Board for Technical Education; and Prof. Muhammad Mu’az, National Arabic Language Village.

See press releases memo below:

FG appoints CEOs for 17 Education agencies FG appoints CEOs for 17 Education Agencies

About the author

Elvis Boniface

Ordained Evangelist of the Education Ministry. Learning is my lifestyle, credo and religion. On a mission to disrupt and redirect Africa's Education conversation using Technology and Media. We can do it. Open to discuss any Education initiative and idea. #peace

Speedy reach: +2348185787349 &

Leave a Comment