NUC Transfers Ownership of LAUTECH to Oyo State

Written by Akeem Alao

The National Universities Commission has transferred ownership of the Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, LAUTECH Ogbomoso, to the Oyo State Government.

While disclosing this on Friday November 20, 2020, the NUC stated that the Osun State government is to take over the College of Health Sciences in Osogbo.

The resolution followed the lingering ownership of LAUTECH over the years.

The Executive Secretary of the National Universities Commission Professor Abubakar Rasheed stated this at a media briefing in Abuja.

Professor Rasheed said, “Both Governor Seyi Makinde of Oyo State and Adegboyega Oyetola signed a memorandum of Agreement to the development.”

“The mutually agreed dissolution was formalized through the signing of a memorandum of agreement by the Executive Governors of Oyo and Osun States witnessed by the Attorneys-General of both States, giving legal effect to the transfer of ownership of Ladoke Akintola University of Technology (LAUTECH) to the Government of Oyo State and the College of Health Sciences, Osogbo to the government of Osun State,” he added.

The NUC boss expressed optimism that the new arrangement would restore peace to LAUTECH.


About the author

Akeem Alao

Akeem Alao trained as a language teacher. He graduated from Adeniran Ogunsanya college of Education where he studied English/Yoruba Languages and Ekiti State University where he obtained a degree in English Education.

Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!