Africa Opportunities Schools News

Adamawa Teacher Emerges 2020 Maltina Teacher of the Year

A teacher from Concordia College, Yola Adamawa State, Anani Oluwabunmi, has emerged the winner of the 2020 Maltina Teacher of the Year.

Anani was declared the winner at the grand finale that held on Friday, October 16, 2020, at Eko Hotel & Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos.

As the crowned winner, Anani received a total cash prize of N6.5 million (N1.5million immediately and N1million annually for the next five years) from the Nigerian Breweries – Felix Ohiwerei Trust Fund.

She also got an all-expense paid capacity development training abroad in addition to a fully equipped computer laboratory or six-classroom block worth N20 million that will be built for her school in her honour by the Fund.

Addressing guests at the event, Minister of State for Education, Honourable Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba lauded the company’s unflinching commitment in supporting the education sector by rewarding high performing teachers through the annual Maltina Teacher of the Year initiative.

Nwajiuba stated that it was heartwarming to note that the company is keeping faith with this initiative despite the disruptive impact of the coronavirus pandemic on businesses and economy.

In his welcome address, the Managing Director, Nigerian Breweries Plc, Mr. Jordi Borrut Bel informed that the initiative was designed to identify, celebrate and motivate teachers whose stories have become great reminders of their role in laying the foundation for a good society.

Congratulating the finalists alongside state champions for coming this far, he noted that teachers cannot be downplayed, considering their inputs to shaping and moulding lives.

“With the Maltina Teacher of the Year, we are saying that our teachers can and should be rewarded for their roles in the development of our nation”, Bel said.

A teacher from Asoro Grammar School Senior, Egor, Edo State, Idele Benedicta, emerged the first runner-up winning a total of N1.5 Million. While a teacher from Patterson Memorial Baptist Grammar School, Abeokuta, Ogun State, Adeeko Folukemi, emerged as second runner-up with a prize of N1.25Million.

Other 27 teachers who emerged as state champions were also rewarded with a sum of N500,000.00 each.

The Commissioner of Education, Lagos State, Mrs. Folashade Adefisayo who represented the Executive Governor of Lagos State, Mr. Babajide Sanwo-Olu also lauded Nigerian Breweries Plc.

He noted that teachers play a significant role in nation-building given their efforts in imparting knowledge in the lives of their students.

Reacting to the news of her victory of the coveted prize, Anani appreciated Nigerian Breweries Plc, Maltina for putting smiles on the faces of teachers through this initiative by rewarding and recognizing them.

Since inception, the Maltina Teacher of the Year initiative has proudly produced six grand winners; Rose Nkemdilim Obi, Anambra (2015), Imoh Essien, Akwa Ibom (2016), Felix Ariguzo, Delta State (2017), Olasunkanmi Opeifa, FCT (2018), Ezem Collins (2019) and now Oluwabunmi Anani(2020).

Support EDUGIST to give education a VOICE in Africa

Education journalism has become highly important in today's world and the need to sustain it has become highly recommended. Hence, accuracy, originality, readability and dependability becomes a must. Without adequate resources, dependability may not be able to stand the test of time.

To be relevant is to keep meeting the needs of the readers. Help us stay relevant by donating to our course. With as little as $10/N5000, you can support us in ensuring that we keep publishing accurate, original, readable and dependable educational contents for your views.

About the author

Abigael Ibikunle

Associate Correspondent at Edugist, Abigael Ibikunle is a Mathematics Education graduate. A professional Journalist and a passionate writer. She can be reached via:

Add Comment

Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!