Africa's Education News Source

Nigerian Breweries flags off 10th edition of Maltina Teacher of the year, call for entries

Nigeria’s foremost brewing company, Nigerian Brewerieshas announced the opening of entries for the 10th edition of the Maltina Teacher of the Year.
Get stories like these delivered straight to your inbox.


…patners FCMB, WoodHall Capital, Union Bank, Alert Group,others

Nigeria’s foremost brewing company, Nigerian Brewerieshas announced the opening of entries for the 10th edition of the Maltina Teacher of the Year.

Speaking at the flag-off ceremony of the initiative held on Thursday, May 16, 2024, the Corporate Affairs Director, Nigerian Breweries Plc., Mrs. Sade Morgan noted that Maltina Teacher of the Year is one of the ways the company contributes to the society.

The program started since 2015 and has since then rewarded outstanding teachers with various cash gifts and other benefits.

Mrs Sade said the company wants everyone to see that the notion saying “The reward of a teacher is in heaven” is not entirely true. She said she wants people to know that it is possible for a teacher to be rewarded on earth as well.

According to her, this year’s edition of the initiative is particularly special and symbolic one since its the 10th edition. In her words she said “My father was a teacher and I know that 50 percent of everyone here has a teacher as either father or mother so it is important to celebrate our teachers who have impacted us”

She also unveiled the theme of this years’ initiative. She added that “The theme of this year initiative is a decade of inspiring excellence in teaching so we want to spotlight teacher who have been doing exceptionally well and helping to groom and nurture the next generation through this award”.

Mrs Sade further explained that the “Maltina teacher of the year is an initiative that is cherished and keenly supported by our management team who are deeply passionate about education. This is why we are committed and very happy to commence our annual search for the best secondary school teacher in Nigeria with the Call for Entry commencing on May 16, 2024 and closes on July 19, 2024. The award ceremony of the teacher of the year and other qualifying teachers would be revealed on October 11, 2024. Ever since this initiative started, we have had 8242 participants, 5542 valid entries, 241 teachers recognised, 74 communities impacted, 3200 students received counselling.

She also revealed the partners of this year program to be FCMB, WoodHall Capital, Union Bank, and Alert Group. She also appreciated the project’s esteemed educational stakeholders; the Federal and State Ministry of Education, the Nigerian Union of Teachers (NUT), All Nigeria Confederation of Principals of Secondary Schools (ANCOPSS), Teachers Registration Council of Nigeria (TRCN) and the Media. Morgan enlisted their continued support to reach out to all teachers across the country to inform them of the flag off and how to submit their entries.”

Mrs Sade added that “The winner will receive a total cash prize of 10 million Naira as his/her reward, in addition to a trophy. He/she also receives a capacity development training while his/her school receives either a block of classroom or a computer laboratory.

The first runner up receives a trophy and 3 million naira, the second runner up receives a trophy and 2.5 million naira, all state champions are rewarded with recognition plaques and a cash prize of 1 million naira each.”

She assured that the project team would continue to work with reputable and highly respected panel of judges to sustain the integrity of this initiative and ensure that indeed the best teacher is identified and rewarded for excellence.

Also speaking at the flag-off ceremony, the Chairman Nigeria Union of Teachers (NUT), Lagos State Chapter, Comrade Hassan Akintoye, applauded Nigerian Breweries Plc for their role in celebrating teachers through the initiative, assuring that the association would mobilize teachers across the country to participate in the 2024 MTOTY as part of its commitment to in motivating and inspiring teachers all over Nigeria who are moving education forward.

Mrs Adaobi, the coordinator of the Teacher’s Registration Council, Lagos chapter and Alhaji Musa Muhamed, Confederation of Head of Principals in their speeches also added that the organisation will do everything in their power to ensure the success of the program.

Present at the ceremony was the awardee of the Maltina Teacher of the year 2023 edition, Mrs Adeola Adekunle Adefemi. She said that “The initiative did not only give me money as the price but also gave me the gift of boldness, the gift of family, the gift of influence and the gift of leadership. I have been to numerous countries after this program where I have been invited to speak. Winners of this competition from 2018 till 2023 will be going to one of the top Universities in Finland on Sunday for their capacity development training. The highlight of all these for me was when I was speaking at an event recently many students raised up their hand when I asked them who wants to become a teacher in the future. This moved me to tears because previously hardly will you see students saying they want to become a teacher in the future”. Closing her speech, she said.

Other key notes speakers include Mrs Grace, Human Resource Manager of the Nigerian Breweries, Ayodele Alabi, Head of Communications Nigerian Breweries who also served as the MC for the flag-off ceremony, Mr Emeka, Head of Regulatory and sustainability, Nigerian Breweries Plc.

Also present are the representatives of the partnering companies Mr Henry of WoodHall Capital, Mr Babatunde Eyitayo of Alert Group, Mr Alvin Head of Strategy and Brand Management, Union Bank, and Mrs Ebunoluwa Eniola of FCMB.

Maltina Teacher of the Year Initiative established in 2015 and funded through the Nigerian Breweries-Felix Ohiwerei Education Trust Fund set up in 1994 to facilitate an active contribution to the development of the education sector in Nigeria, is in tandem with the United Nations Sustainable Development Goal, SDG 4.

Since its inception, the Maltina Teacher of the Year initiative has produced nine grand winners: Rose Nkemdilim Obi (2015), Imoh Essien (2016), Felix Ariguzo (2017), Olasunkanmi Opeifa (2018), Ezem Collins (2019), Oluwabunmi Anani (2020), Abanika Taiye (2021), Alaku Ayiwulu (2022), and Adeola Adedunke Adefemi (2023).

Maltina Teacher of The Year aims to recognize and celebrate exceptional teachers in Nigeria for their contribution and impact on the future of the nation. The initiative is open to teachers in all secondary schools (public and private), across the six geopolitical zones and 36 states of the country including the Federal Capital Territory. Application is also free and teachers must not be above 55 years of age.

To participate, all eligible teachers are invited to log on to the dedicated website to either complete the forms online or download the forms, complete, scan and email the completed form to

Share this article

All right reserved. You may not reproduce or republish Edugist content in whole or part without express written permission. Only use the share buttons.

Support Edugist’s goal of giving education a voice

Even a small donation will make a difference.

Related Content

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
WeCreativez WhatsApp Support
Our customer support team is here to answer your questions. Ask us anything!
???? Hi, how can I help?
Scroll to Top

Fill the form below to download the WASSCE 2024 Timetable

Be the First to Know When we Publish new Contents

“Stay ahead of the educational curve! Subscribe to Edugist’s newsletter for the latest insights, trends, and updates in the world of education. Join our community today and never miss out on valuable content. Sign up now!”