Africa's Education News Source

Great Ife chairman promises accountability as electoral lifts ban on campaign activities

Khalil, while speaking with Edugist, noted that although the commission has a very limited time to work with, it won’t be a hindrance to exercising their duty.
Get stories like these delivered straight to your inbox.

The Chairman of the Great Ife Students’ Union Electoral Commission, Ayebiele Khalil Oluwajuedalo has assured the Great Ife Students of accountability in the most anticipated Union Election.

Khalil, while speaking with Edugist, noted that although the commission has a very limited time to work with, it won’t be a hindrance to exercising their duty.

To achieve this he noted: “We are going to be observant and make sure we give the Great Ife student that memorable election in which in the history of the Union they are yet to witness. We are bringing accountability, Transparency and other features that will be communicated soon”.

IMG 20230519 WA0005

IMG 20230519 WA0006

IMG 20230519 WA0007

Oluwajuedalo added that “The simplest thing to do in the world is accountability. Trust me, being accountable doesn’t take the height of mighty rock. And no mountain is insurmountable so far there’s the right zeal for such purposes. In this regard, me and my electoral committee member we will adopt a guideline that will be a renouncing effect on the purpose of transparency”.

In the same vein, the Electoral Commission on May 18th, 2023 announced the lifting of the election ban and commencement of campaign activities.

This was contained in a release signed by the Chairman, Ayebiele Khalil Oluwajuedalo, and General Secretary, Dele Junaid Olajuwon, of the commission.

The release further stated the guidelines for campaigning for the contestants.

In an earlier development, on May 16, 2023, the Great Ife Students’ Representative Council, Obafemi Awolowo University constituted the electoral and petition commission for the Students’ Union Elections.

The 13-man committee consists of students from all the faculties and includes; Ayebiele Khalil Oluwajuedalo, Faculty of Law (Chairman); Dele Junaid, Faculty of Agriculture (Secretary); Olayinka D.E Sibesibeoluwanbepelumi, Faculty of Education (Financial Secretary); Okunola Ridwan, Faculty of Pharmacy (Public Relations Officer); Jimoh Sodiq, Faculty of Environmental Design Management; Oyedele Anifat, Faculty of Social Sciences; Ogunlewe Yusuf, Faculty of Science; Oladapo Moses, Clinical Sciences; Audu Abdulsalam, Basic Medical Sciences; Ajijola Lukman, Faculty of Arts; Okwunze Kelvin, Faculty of Technology; Adebayo Idris, Faculty of Dentistry; Ekundayo Lateef, Faculty of Administration.

The Electoral Petition Commission consists of;

Orimolade Ayokunle, Clinical Sciences; Tijani Ridwan Babatunde, Faculty of Education; Olaoye David, Faculty of Technology; Fawole Kehinde, Faculty of Arts; Onuorah Evaristus Chinwendu, Faculty of Administration; Adelodun Precious-Love, Faculty of Pharmacy; Akinboade Niyi, Faculty of Science; Umeadi Obinna-genius, Faculty of Law.

By: Ajibade Abdullah Adewale

Share this article

All right reserved. You may not reproduce or republish Edugist content in whole or part without express written permission. Only use the share buttons.

Support Edugist’s goal of giving education a voice

Even a small donation will make a difference.

Related Content

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
WeCreativez WhatsApp Support
Our customer support team is here to answer your questions. Ask us anything!
???? Hi, how can I help?
Scroll to Top

Fill the form below to download the WASSCE 2024 Timetable

Be the First to Know When we Publish new Contents

“Stay ahead of the educational curve! Subscribe to Edugist’s newsletter for the latest insights, trends, and updates in the world of education. Join our community today and never miss out on valuable content. Sign up now!”