Buhari Awards Scholarship to Winners of Science Competition

Written by Akeem Alao

The President Muhammadu Buhari has awarded a scholarship to winners at the 2020 Young Nigerian Scientists Presidential Award Competition.

According to the President, the students will enjoy the scholarship up to PhD level at any Nigerian universities of their choice.

Buhari disclosed this on Monday 16th March, 2020 while declaring open the 2020 Science, Technology and Innovation Expo at the Eagle Square, Abuja.

The President praised the creativity and competitive spirit of the three young scientists for emerging tops in the competition tagged, ‘774 Young Nigerian Scientists Presidential Award.’

The beneficiaries are Akintade Akanbi from Osogbo Government High School, Osogbo, Osun State, who came first; while the second and third positions went to Uwakwe Kamsiyochukwu of Anambra State from British Spring College, Awka; and Aimofumhe Sigmus of the Federal Capital Territory from the School of the Gifted, Gwagwalada, Abuja, respectively.

Buhari also reiterated the promise of his administration to invest in human capital development, being Nigeria’s greatest resource.

‘’This is richly embodied in our youth who make up tens of millions of incredibly talented persons, constantly pushing and striving towards greatness. The future of Nigeria belongs to our youth,” he said.

‘’This administration will therefore continue to create the enabling environment for them to develop to the fullest, their potential,” he added.


About the author

Akeem Alao

Akeem Alao trained as a language teacher. He graduated from Adeniran Ogunsanya college of Education where he studied English/Yoruba Languages and Ekiti State University where he obtained a degree in English Education.

Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!