Africa's Education News Source

APPLY: 2023 UNESCO International Literacy Prizes

All applicants should make submissions related to the theme of the year: “Promoting literacy for a world in transition: Building the foundation for sustainable societies and piece.”
Get stories like these delivered straight to your inbox.

The United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO) International Literacy Prizes 2023 are now accepting applications and nominations.

Member States and International NGOs with official relations with UNESCO can submit nominations for the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes 2023.

All applicants should make submissions related to the theme of the year: “Promoting literacy for a world in transition: Building the foundation for sustainable societies and piece.” Please consider the specific focuses of the two prizes when applying.

The application process includes two stages, an application, and a nomination. In the first stage, an applicant can fill in and apply to a National Commission for UNESCO or International Non-Governmental Organization (NGO) with official relations with UNESCO. In the second stage, the concerned National Commission or international NGO will review and nominate the shortlisted applications to the Secretariat of the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes.

2023 UNESCO International Literacy Prizes

There are currently two UNESCO International Literacy Prizes:

The UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy (3 Awards):

Established in 2005 and supported by the People’s Republic of China’s government. This award recognizes programs that promote literacy, including functional literacy, by leveraging technological environments to assist adults in rural areas and out-of-school youth.
Each UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy winner receives a medal, a diploma, and US$30,000.

The UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize (3 Awards):

Established in 1989 and supported by the Republic of Korea’s government. It prioritizes programs that promote literacy development based on the mother language.
Each UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize winner, receives an award, a diploma, and a monetary prize of US$20,000.

Eligibility criteria

The National Commission for UNESCO and international NGOs maintaining an official relationship with UNESCO can nominate the following groups of people:

  • Applicants who are promoting literacy through effective and innovative projects or programs
  • Open to all governments, non-governmental organizations, and individuals who contribute to promoting and advancing literacy learning through projects and programs.
  • Have proven innovative work prove in the field of literacy for at least three years
  • Who has not received the UNESCO International Literacy Prize in the past five years?

Selection criteria

The following are the selection criteria:

  • Activities relevant to the theme of the year
  • Relevance to the societal and individual needs
  • The teaching and learning quality
  • The activities impact
  • Innovative approaches
  • Sustainability of the project or programme

Application procedure and deadline

Qualified applicants should visit the official website for more information. Application deadline is July 13, 2023.

Share this article

All right reserved. You may not reproduce or republish Edugist content in whole or part without express written permission. Only use the share buttons.

Support Edugist’s goal of giving education a voice

Even a small donation will make a difference.

Related Content

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
WeCreativez WhatsApp Support
Our customer support team is here to answer your questions. Ask us anything!
???? Hi, how can I help?
Scroll to Top

Fill the form below to download the WASSCE 2024 Timetable

Be the First to Know When we Publish new Contents

“Stay ahead of the educational curve! Subscribe to Edugist’s newsletter for the latest insights, trends, and updates in the world of education. Join our community today and never miss out on valuable content. Sign up now!”